Bad Haircut

Wearing hats is hard to do, nowadays-
unless you are being ironic
(you can get away with most
anything if it is ironic).

Some people can get away with a hat, though,
I guess they must get away with it, because
I see people wearing hats.
Not caps, mind you,
but hats with names (trilby, fedora…).

It would be too much of a statement,
though, (wouldn’t it?),
if I put on a beret
or a Stetson… even
a pork pie.
The person who wears one has to fit it
just the right way,
with the right kind of mustache
waxed into that perfect shape.

But I couldn’t wear one without
feeling afraid it would blow away,
or that I would look too silly,
or just not myself. Don’t you think so, too?
Because if it’s just me,
I’ll try one on, you know, just for kicks.


Discover more from William May Writes

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a comment

Discover more from William May Writes

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close